Birthday Love

Every year my friend has a Prairie Burn birthday party, and today was the day.  I went alone, and that was kind of sad, as for years we all went and the kids had a blast burning stuff.  I think fire is very primal and a satisfying plaything under the right conditions.  Anyway, it’s always a potluck, and for some reason I decided to make cookies instead of something healthier, with vegetables….probably all the All School Unit healthiness is getting to me… and to make it fancy, I put it all together into a heart-shaped pan and made one giant cookie.  This is a double batch of chocolate chip cookies from Vive la Vegan!  It tasted fantastic, but what’s more important is that the birthday girl liked it.

Yesterday for dinner I made cream of cauliflower soup.  No recipe, but it did have a leek, some shallots, cauliflower, celery, vegetable stock, and Silk creamer.  (Yeah, I know about Silk, but the creamer makes a darn good soup!)  I chopped the leek and put the pieces in a bowl of water so the grit could fall to the bottom, then went to the cabinet to get out the colander.  I left it open because in a minute I’d need a pot.  When I turned around, someone who was feeling neglected made sure I noticed her!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Love

  1. Anonymous says:

    That cookie looks really good.
    I’ve never been to a prairie burn but it sounds intoxicating. 🙂

  2. wei_k says:

    Great pics! (cute Spotty. 🙂
    And I’m sure no cats were harmed in the making of your soup.

Leave a Reply

