Hope Springs Eternal

I love pizza, and you may remember that I do not love vegan cheese.  Anything I’ve tried lacks that certain whatever-it-is I’m looking for.  (In French, I believe it’s "Je ne sais quoi," but that’s kinda snobby, isn’t it?)  Anyway, about once per season, like a sucker, I try something new.  You’d think I could wait for the next Vegetarian Meetup Dinner, which will be at a pizzeria and feature that newfangled Daiya Cheese I’ve heard so much about, but no.  This evening I decided to try this recipe and it was…. ok.  I mean, it tasted pretty good but not awesome.  Anyway, if you try it, it calls for waaaaay too much water, so don’t add so much.  Here’s the before:

And the after:

I mean, after it was baked…..
Oh, I ate it all right! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hope Springs Eternal

  1. Anonymous says:

    I wrote a long comment and it just disappeared into thin air, but the gist was that I don’t like vegan cheese either but daiya is growing on me. (We have a pizza place about a 10 minute walk away that uses it.) If only it had a better nutritional profile so I could feel good about eating it. (Darn that nutritional element to food. Darn.)
    I’m disappointed you didn’t like the cashew cheese. I have a recipe I was thinking of trying. I also recently read that the secret to really good cashew cheese is a Vitamix and I don’t have one of those … yet.
    Teese from Chicago soy dairy just came out with a new stretchy mozzarella. Maybe you should look for that since Chicago is practically around the corner. 🙂

    • wingraclaire says:

      Actually that cashew cheese tasted better on the leftover pizza I ate for lunch. So who knows… maybe it will grow on me!

    • Anonymous says:

      Why can’t I ever get the hang of leaving comments on livejournal? Why?
      BTW did you know spammers now pay people in third world countries to fill out these captchas?

  2. Anonymous says:

    Gorgeous pizza! I don’t like much vegan cheese, either, except for tofutti on grilled cheese. But I’ve only heard rave reviews for Daiya. It looks delicious, I wish they carried it here, but they don’t and they probably won’t for another decade or so! Enjoy your pizza!
    The Voracious Vegan

Leave a Reply

