Woo-hoo! I am on vacation!

When people find out I am a teacher, one of the first thing they say is, "And you get summers off!"  Which is true!  Because there’s got to be some reward for the 60+ hour weeks we put in during the school year… oh yeah – it’s the warm glow inside that comes from guiding young minds, etc. etc.  Just to set the record straight, my summer started on Saturday (yesterday) and will end around August 2nd, when we go unpack the classroom, and over the summer I’ll be going in to interview new teachers and participate on the Food Committee for an upcoming conference our school is hosting… but I’m not complaining!  It still leaves me with most of July off, and I sincerely appreciate it.

That being said, I have made all kinds of plans for that time off. To begin with, K has returned home for a month before heading back to China for the next adventure.  Here she is posing with tonight’s dinner:

This was grilled eggplant with that olive sauce (again, because it was good), grilled vegetables, including some of the last asparagus, and grilled potatoes. 

K arrived home on my birthday.  It had been a busy and long day for all of us.  I was still packing up my classroom and having long meetings at school, and I was tired.  Nevertheless, I wanted a birthday treat, and who wouldn’t?  Normally I have a rule that I don’t make my own birthday cake, but as my husband was out shopping for groceries – and after two weekends of travel, with busy work weeks in between, we were out of everything – I bent it….. I did the easiest thing, which is to take a box of brownie mix (Cherrybook Farm is dairy-free) and added one can of black beans, pureed, with about 1/4 cup of water, instead of eggs, milk and oil.  It always works great.  (One of my co-workers does the same thing with a can of pumpkin.)  With Purely Decadent vanilla ice cream, and two fruit toppings (the rhubarb-berry sauce I made and the cherry jam Claudia  made) it was totally scrumptious.

Tomorrow is the Solstice!  I’ve really, really been enjoying the long days……

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Woo-hoo! I am on vacation!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Claire,
    Happy Birthday! I’m glad you were able to fit a birthday treat into your busy life! Maybe you’ll have a little time to relax (if you still remember how) before the next round of adventures kicks in. See you soon.

Leave a Reply

