Another Week, Another Birthday

On Friday my husband had a milestone birthday.  Typical of this milestone, his brother sent him a card with an old man in a rocking chair on the cover.  The old man is staying, "As you grow older, I just want you to remember one thing."  Inside, it says, "Go ahead, remember one thing!  I’ll bet you can’t!"  Or something like that… anyway, enough said about that; you get the picture.  On a birthday like that, it is important to have just the right cake to make you feel special.  Every year he gets a banana cream pie… home-made, of course.

With a layer of chocolate between the crust and bananas, and yeah, that’s real meringue with real egg whites.  After all, who’s it for?  (And excuse the grammar; I’m on vacation.)

On the grill, we made some delicious portabello mushroom caps and tofu.  We layered them with vegetables and had super thick sandwiches.  There was also corn involved, which didn’t turn out as well.  While I was cooking, the other daughter called.  When told I was out grilling, she said, "I want to learn how to grill!"  So do I, so do I…




This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Week, Another Birthday

  1. Anonymous says:

    That grill is looking better and better all the time! Happy birthday to the old man. Tell him to enjoy his milestone, and remember it! 😀
    -Andrea

  2. wei_k says:

    Yum this food was so delicious. Especially the pie! I hadn’t had banana cream pie for a long time.

Leave a Reply

