Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Eating

How did you spend your American Independence Day, aka "the Fourth of July?"  K and I spent the weekend at beautiful Yellowstone State Park (in Wisconsin – not to be confused with the national park….) with our Vegetarian Meetup Group.  It was very hot, and there was a lot of food, so all we did, pretty much, was cook, eat, swim, cook some more, eat some more…. you can see some photos here.  And here’s one from the whole slideshow proving that I did actually work for my food. We were making "hobo dinners" from potatoes, onions, carrots, oil and spices.  These were placed on the fire (well, the coals) and the ones that didn’t burn tasted great!  Also on the menu were two kinds of "burgers," barbecued seitan, and salad.  For dessert: s’mores – – my first in years!  Well, to be honest, I was looking forward to the s’mores, but I was so full I only roasted my Sweet and Sara marshmallows and ate them off the stick.  They were amazing.

In the few days before the trip, K and I drove up to Minneapolis to see R.  R took us to the Hard Times Cafe, where everything is vegetarian and many things are vegan or can be made vegan.  The three of us were in absolute heaven…. my photos are not so great, as it was cavernously dark in there, but here’s R’s Reuben sandwich, which she devoured, and my gyros.  The funny thing was that on the way up, I’d been telling K about an old roommate my husband and I had in the 80’s who loved to go out to the Greek restaurant and bring home a nice, juicy gyros sandwich…. blech!  And I’d never had one in my life, so nothing to compare it to, but the one I did eat last week was absolutely delicious.

I forgot to mention up above that our meetup organizer cajoled a whole bunch of free samples from Upton’s Naturals, and in addition to a free packet of jerky for each participant, we were eating seitan crumbles at each meal.  There was so much of the stuff that K and I took some leftovers home, and I used them in tonight’s dinner.  (There would be a photo except at the crucial moment, my camera was out of batteries, and I was more hungry than artistic.) (So here is a photo of their Fearless Leader instead. Not only did we get the food, but we also came home with t-shirts and buttons with his picture on them.  Now we all look like cult members.)

I chopped some onions and peppers, then roasted them on the grill with the crumbles.  I tossed in some frozen corn, and at the end, fresh cilantro (there is a lot in our garden).   We ate it over rice, and it tasted….. fine.  I mean, it was supposedly "Chorizo Style," but you couldn’t prove it by me.  I don’t think I’d ever eaten chorizo in my entire life!  Anyway, my husband loved it, which was the main thing.  And I see they have a blog with recipes, so now I can make even more stuff for him… seitan is one of his favorite foods.

The forecast for this week: more eating.  Tomorrow our meetup group is going to a Chinese restaurant, and then on Thursday it’s the Willy Street Food Co-op’s annual membership meeting and dinner (never the best meal, but I just can’t resist the lure of free samples).  On Friday all five of us will be in the same area code at the same time for the first time in months, and so we’re going out to eat to celebrate our wedding anniversary (#27).  E has promised us a very good Mexican restaurant.  I’ll keep you posted….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Eating

  1. Anonymous says:

    It’s bad enough to miss the Imperial Garden dinner, but the Willy St. annual meeting? Oh no. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! Enjoy the rare treat of spending it with the entire family. I wonder which restaurant you’re going to?
    When our family went camping at Yellowstone (Wis.) we spent a lovely day hiking and at the lake before discovering Ken had brought the tent but not the poles. So, we cooked dinner and went home.
    -Andrea

    • wingraclaire says:

      I almost left home with the rainfly and poles, but no tent. The groovy bags those tents come in never accommodate them in the same way once they’ve been used… have you noticed that?

Leave a Reply

