Officially Autumn!

It’s the Autumnal Equinox, and you know what that means…..leaves turning color and falling…..

garden winding down….


still lots of basil, but it’s getting ratty.  So we needed to make one last batch of pesto…

and stuffed peppers, with this awesomely awesome recipe, and the really large peppers we grew this summer. (If the recipe on that link changes, look for Mo’s Vegan Stuffed Peppers on that page.)  We only got a few, but they are lovely and sweet. The recipe uses a whole cup of chopped basil, and raisins, and as a result the filling is sweet and delicious.


And last night, when I got home from work late, we used another pepper to grill with some homegrown onions and homemade seitan, so it was all pretty local, right?  Until we put it on baked potatoes… but the important point to remember was that it was on the table in 30 minutes.

It’s been a while since my last post.  Last Monday, my class went on our yearly overnight.  Normally, we go on a  Thursday and Friday, but this time we got Monday and Tuesday.  We had a wonderful time, owing to the fabulous summery weather, the great activities (canoeing! night hike! orienteering!), and the kids’ great behavior.  Nevertheless, we were exhausted when we got back from the trip, AND we still had three days of school left in the week! The trip was totally worth it, though, although the food was terrible (which I had expected).  The best eating was the s’mores – my veg and vegan kids (and I) were treated to Sweet and Sara’s marshmallows, vegan dark chocolate and amaranth graham crackers, which nobody else would touch… more for us, we decided!  (And it sort of made up for the sausage patties, french toast, and milk that was for breakfast the next day…)  When I got home, A had harvested a bunch of carrots, so we made carrot-ginger soup, and I found out that you can, actually, use too much ginger.  And hot peppers.  This soup looks cool but was way too hot to eat.  The next day, I added a bunch of sweet corn and pureed it, and added more coconut milk, but the soup just laughed.  We also baked bread, and some of K’s easy banana bread.  And seitan, as long as the oven was on…


On Saturday, instead of sleeping late, I got up ata 6:00 to get a spot in the synagogue for Yom Kippur.  Sunday was my only real weekend day, and I had a very important job – the shirts we painted on the overnight had supposedly "cured" long enough, and needed to be washed and line-dried.  By then, the weather had turned, so instead I hung them all up indoors, and they dried with a little help from the dehumidifier.

Cute, right?  Because nothing says "nature" like t-shirts covered in arguably toxic paint.
So now, of course, we are all bonded, and back at school.  Coming up on Thursday night: Parents’ Night!  And then Goal Setting Conferences on Friday.  Needless to say, I’ve needed all the sleep I can get!
.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Officially Autumn!

  1. Anonymous says:

    I really miss my basil plants. Even though I’m not the biggest basil fan, just knowing I don’t have the plants anymore is making me crave the stuff.
    There’s new evidence about head lice that most people treated for them don’t even have active cases, and that most people searching heads for them are fairly clueless about what to look for. The current recommendation is not to send kids home. Check out the latest articles about head lice for some surprising information. Much more alarming is the current resurgence of bedbugs. Ugh.
    Putting the seitan and peppers on top of baked potato seems like a great idea. Anything on top of potato is a great idea, in my book.
    Hope you get some quality sleep this weekend, but if you feel all rested you might want to consider the Willy St. Fair and World Music Festival — one of our favorite Madison events. Miss you!

  2. wei_k says:

    Oh… I want to eat basil too… :-((
    I just made a post about yaks. Not quite the same.
    btw i liked how you anthropormorphized (?) the soup!

Leave a Reply

