Chicago trip – part 2

 
Another great market we visited in Chicago (well, Skokie), was called Marketplace on Oakton.  We were promised a treasure trove of Eastern European goods, and they were there all right, but first we had to get through the produce section.  Honestly, I never wanted to leave it!  These are just a few photos; if you look on their link, you’ll get a whole slide show.  This stuff was clean, fresh, cheap and beautiful.  Although I thought we bought a lot – and we did – we bought even more from their "reduced" section, in which some vegetables looked about as good as when I buy them "new" at Woodman’s!  What a difference!
  

Once we made it through to the grocery department, we were faced with an enormous deli, and aisles of canned and packaged goods from Hungary, Bulgaria, Croatia, you know….. that section of the world.  I even saw some type of jam with Russian, Hebrew and English on the same label.  I didn’t buy it; we were trying to stay on some sort of budget.  We did, however, come away with ten pounds of basmati rice on sale for half price – which was less than half the price in the Asian markets!  We also decided on two deli items – halvah and some sort of mushroom salad.  I’d say it was made with an oil-and-vinegar dressing, dill, pepper, and an overabundance of garlic.  We had it for dinner last night (pictured here with my hummus-tomato-avocado-olive sandwich), and I know for sure I could never take it to school for lunch!!!

At MOO, I bought a head of cabbage waaaaaay bigger than my head.  I think I’m going to make stuffed cabbage for Thanksgiving, so stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chicago trip – part 2

  1. wei_k says:

    mmm, Vegetables…
    That market looks and sounds great! But it’s so…clean. (haha) Where are the bikes and 3-wheeled carts trying to make it through the aisleways?! But seriously, I do think you’ll like the market in Zhongdian when you come here.

  2. Anonymous says:

    So are you moving to Chicago? Haha. Looks like a lot of fun.
    We just got back from seeing Peter Yarrow in a free concert at the downtown library. Let me tell you, that was a trip back in time. The problem was he kept making me cry. We bought a signed copy of his book Puff the Magic Dragon for Miss E for Hannukah. I kept wanting to ask him if it “really” was about drugs, but I was pretty sure he would say no.

  3. Great photos everything’s so colourful.

Leave a Reply

