Thanksgiving = Yum

 (Yeah, I know, a Vegan MOFO logo should go here…..)

Yesterday was Thanksgiving, and we were up early to cook.  This was after staying up late prepping.  Which was after cooking the dinner in the previous post.  I’d bought an enormous head of cabbage, and had every intention of making a stupendous batch of stuffed cabbage, just like my mother used to make, despite never actually having made it myself.  I’d watched her do it, back in the day, and that should count for something, right?  I knew that to make stuffed cabbage, the first step is getting the leaves off.  My mom used to dunk the whole head of cabbage in boiling water, but I’d read somewhere (Vegan Dad?) that you can preserve vitamins, and the heart of the cabbage, by steaming the whole head and periodically removing it to peel off leaves.  In that way, I think the theory goes, you only take off the ones you need and you still have some relatively raw cabbage left for other uses.  After an hour or so of this method, and of repeatedly scalded fingers, I think I’m ready to boil the heck out of it next time.  But I did get a lovely photo out of it…..

So yesterday morning, all I needed to do was make the stuffing, make the sauce, stuff and bake it.  There are many vegetarian versions of stuffed cabbage, and I sort of amalgamized all of them, and then basically followed the recipe for Vegan Stuffed Peppers I like so much.  Because there are three people at our Thanksgiving who don’t eat wheat anymore, I couldn’t use the bread crumbs or seitan called for in that recipe, I decided to use red quinoa.  After cooking it with some seasoned salt, I mixed it with chopped yellow bell pepper, scallions, basil (frozen, from our garden), olive oil, and pepper.  I think that was about it.  

I think I forgot to photograph it when it was done, so here is the view of only one counter at the Wests, with some of the main dishes we had. This was a vegetarian, not strictly vegan, Thanksgiving, and so I had to pick and choose.  As it turned out, Renee had made stuffed cabbage also, with a porcini mushroom filling, and Martha had made braised cabbage.  So funny!  One year everyone brought potatoes, and this year it was cabbage.  My cabbage is the one in back – Ben is serving himself some.  Directly in front of that is the bowl of pickled beets A made, and in front of that is Martha’s braised purple cabbage.  In the left foreground is some stuffed squash with cranberries and rice; Amber made it, and it was really spicy!  

And here we have the obligatory plate photo; not such great quality because of the low light, I guess. 

More Thanksgiving photos tomorrow – I’m still figuring out how to deal with my photos on the new computer.  I’m expecting a personal visit from Tech Support on Sunday 🙂  

Oh, and it was really cold yesterday – after the freezing rain of the previous night, many parts of our property were covered in ice, including this pumpkin on our deck.  Fortunately, the roads were fine for travel to Madison and back. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thanksgiving = Yum

  1. That sure is some amazing feast! I really must try making stuffed cabbage leaves, that filling looks superb.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Are you sure you’ve never made stuffed cabbage before? Because I have photos of some you made for one of our joint dinners. It was delicious, too. I remember it, I really do. Your Thanksgiving looks great, and I guess I know from personal experience that it IS great! Happy Thanksgiving.

  3. wei_k says:

    Wow yeah it all looks amazing! Maybe espcially the stuffed squash; I don’t think I’ve seen that before.
    reading this post made me realize there’s no reason that I couldn’t make stuffed cabbage HERE!

Leave a Reply

