Peas on Earth!

This evening’s dinner featured the Mushy Peas (from a box) sent by Jenni Treehugger.  I followed the package directions – I thought – and soaked them with the special soaking tablet (bicarbonate of soda), then cooked them "on the hob."  Maybe I used too much water, because it was more like a soupy sauce than the whole-ish peas in the photo, but no matter.  They tasted DELICIOUS. And anyway, I had googled Mushy Peas, and by some accounts it’s supposed to be like a thick soup.  So…. it worked for us!  We ate it with roasted vegetables, steamed broccoli, and  – what else on a Sunday – sourdough bread. Now… I will have to search out marrowfat peas here in the U.S.! 

Happy Chanukah!

 Today was very cold, and is currently about -12 C, or +11 F.  Or something like that… at least we have indoor heat, says the person who doesn’t!    

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peas on Earth!

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’m glad the mushy peas were good. Makes me want pea soup.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Mushy!
    Aww, I miss mushy peas! I used to eat them when I was studying abroad in Ireland and really enjoyed them. Glad to hear you did too!
    Happy Chanukah. 🙂

  3. I’m so glad you liked them!

Leave a Reply

