A break from Italy IF you get my drift…..

 "One for the record books."  "A storm of historic proportions." "Blizzard warning."

Nobody could say we weren’t thoroughly warned about the enormous snowstorm that blew through our midst over the last few days.  It was supposed to start Monday afternoon with a bunch of snow lasting into the next morning. Check.  Then, a break on Tuesday (yesterday) during the day.  Check, but with lots of wind as (I guess) it gathered strength across the great plains.  Finally, yesterday at 3:00 p.m., right on schedule, the monster blew in, sending horizontal torrents of snow that had already drifted across our road when we made it home around 4:00. By 5:00 p.m., Madison schools had already decided to be closed today – what a relief! Below is a view of our cars in the "ready" position, facing out and with the wipers up, around 4:30 as the storm was taking shape.

The wind howled, the trees whipped around, and the houses creaked with the strain all night long.  At 5:00, when A got up to call in to work (no way was he going to get out of our driveway), we noticed the drifts had obscured one of our furnace vent pipes, so he had to go out and dig it free.  Below is the same scene at about 7:15 a.m. (Car? What car? Sidewalk?)

It all stopped late in the morning.  Our neighbor, Dominic came through to plow out a narrow track in case we needed to evacuate, but the digging-out of the cars was up to us.  (Or rather, my husband.)  It was drifted and deep.  The broom-o-meter indicates just how deep it was at the birdfeeder.) 

 

The sun came out and the temperature hovered around 20 (although much less with wind chill), so I thought I’d better take a walk while I could – for the next few days, it’s going to be waaaay below zero.  Check out the ‘hood. Take that, Google street view!


Knowing I was going to be home all day, I took the opportunity to make a real wintertime meal: seitan "pot roast" n the slow cooker.  I followed a basic recipe by Robin Robertson.  It cooked all day and smelled great.  Actually, it smelled and looked just like our mothers used to make…. assuming they used seitan…. I cooked some brown and wild rice to eat on the side, and made some gravy to have on top.  If this doesn’t say "homey," I don’t know what does!
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A break from Italy IF you get my drift…..

  1. Anonymous says:

    I miss everything! Glad you survived the storm without incident. But did A survive the digout? I want to call our renters but I’m afraid. And I want my slow cooker.

  2. wei_k says:

    Winter wonderland!
    Beautiful pics! But I got your text about it being -26 at the house the other morning. Wow. That’s cold.
    I hope you made cookies too? That’s one of my winter goals. That potroast looks delicious! Now I want to make it. You know I don’t like seitan… do you think it would work / be good with tofu instead? Seems possible.

Leave a Reply

