Busy Brushing My Teeth

Please excuse the absence; school has started and I’m feeling a little overwhelmed.  In the week before school started, I was also trying to spend time with HB, who has just landed in Israel.  Right now I’m having a fabulous time mixing up and testing a whole slew of home-made toothpaste recipes to figure out which ones I’ll want my students to make this coming week.  It’s the math/science side of our read-aloud book, The Toothpaste Millionaire, by Jean Merrill (an oldie but goodie).  And it’s all part of our unit on Money.  (Home-made toothpaste costs so much less than commercial toothpaste.  How much less?  That’s up to my students to figure out!)

So far, the kids are loving it.

So far, I’ve tried and sampled toothpastes made from baking soda, salt, and water; baking soda, salt, and glycerin; baking soda, salt, hydrogen peroxide, stevia and glycerin; and a few other combinations.  Unfortunately, I’d already taken some ingredients to school, and so the only flavorings I had at home were orange and vanilla extracts.  Oh, and chocolate, which I decided should NOT be a flavor of toothpaste.  My verdict so far: the simplest one, made from baking soda, salt, and vanilla made my teeth feel cleanest.  I didn’t like the salty taste, so perhaps I could add something stronger next time, like peppermint.

I really do want to post some more photos from China.  And I will…..here’s one for now…

I guess this is the  Chinese version of our Food Pyramid….. why, it’s the Food Pagoda!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Busy Brushing My Teeth

  1. ibuibulai says:

    wow that’s cool!! (like all the activities you always do….) Never heard of that book.
    Maybe I should make/use some… i can see my teeth degrading. uck. But I bought some non-chinese mouthwash in the hope that would help… and probably I should stop using the kind that says it contains some undefined type of “chinese medicine” and cost me 1.5 kuai in Shaxi, and switch back to Tom’s / TJoe’s. ha.

    • wingraclaire says:

      Actually, I searched many websites for toothpaste recipes. One was from a Western mom in China who made her kids toothpaste rather than risk whatever she could find for sale in the stores!

Leave a Reply

