Claire Dreams of Sushi

Just not the fish kind!  

Last week my son and I wanted to buy sushi/nori rolls at Whole Foods Market, but we weren’t convinced they were gluten-free.  (It turns out the rolls themselves are, although the tamari in the packet is not.)  This left me wanting to make my own, something I have never done.  How hard could it be……?  After consulting several websites, and watching a tutorial, I was ready to begin.  But wait – I had no bamboo sushi rolling mat.  Or did I?  In the back of my mind, I recalled a present I’d received from a Thai exchange student several years ago.  She was in my class for six weeks, and during that time her stilted textbook English got a workout through immersion with 24 native speakers.  By the end of her tenure, I counted her as a success story when she clasped her hands and squealed, “OMG!!!” with the other girls while on a field trip.  The gift she gave me was a too-pretty-to-use chopstick/bamboo placemat/dipping bowl set for four.  Thanks to Pearl, I was all set!  (Following directions from one website, I did cover the placemat with plastic wrap to keep it from gumming up with rice.)

Is this just too cute, or what?

Of course, as I rapidly learned, there is no substitute for hands-on experience.  I’m a teacher; I should know we learn best by doing.  In any case, it was a learning curve for sure.  The first rolls were too loose and lumpy.  I’m sure they taste fine, however, and we’re going to eat them for dinner.  The prettiest ones I put into a container to bring to a friend’s summer solstice party tomorrow.  (She always has a winter one as well; this one will be out at her farm, and we’ll camp overnight!)  

Everything I need…..

Ready to roll..

Saving THESE for the potluck!

I want to be sure we have plenty to eat – at potlucks, I never want to feel underrepresented, and because I usually am, I try to make great stuff so I have plenty of choices.  Therefore, I’m also going to make some bean salad, and I used this recipe, a sample from The Allergy-Free Cook Bakes Bread to make some banana bread.  I am totally set, don’t you think?

Looks great, no?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Claire Dreams of Sushi

  1. Laurie says:

    Does look great! All of it! I love sushi… and thanks for the shout-out!

    Laurie (The Allergy-Free Cook Bakes Bread)

  2. Kailah says:

    These look great!! And that sushi-making set really is totally cute. I’ve made sushi rolls before at Putney and Beloit and with friends…and you’re right, like anything it’s a skill. Yum.

  3. Whoa, Claire, the sushi looks perfect! I think one of the most important secrets (after you’ve got all the other secrets!) is to use a relatively thin layer of rice. It took me a while to get that right.

    I just made the very same banana bread (chocolate chip?) but was too nervous to make it into a loaf so I made a round cake. It tasted really good and the texture was nice. The biggest issue with GF baked goods is storage — they can get weird overnight. It’s best to keep them in the freezer.

    Have fun at the party. And say hello to betsy for me, if that’s where you’re going!

Leave a Reply

