Remember Forrest Gump?

In the movie Forrest Gump, Bubba recites a long list of all the dishes that can be made with shrimp: "Boiled shrimp, fried shrimp, shrimp cocktail," and so on, until he can’t think of any more; "and that’s all you can make with shrimp."  Well, we don’t have shrimp, but what we do have is cucumbers!  And the trick now is to make as many things with those cucumbers as we can.  So, in addition to the two kinds of pickles we made the other day, we made a bunch more of another kind…..

And then because we suddenly have bunches of broccoli, I found a recipe for broccoli pickles.  I thought those broccoli flowerets looked lonely, and there was more room in the jar, so I made it be broccoli – onion – carrot pickles, with a hot pepper thrown in just because. All this stuff is from the garden.


While I was making the pickles, R was making a cucumber salad for dinner.  I usually make the "wilted" variety with vinegar, but this one involved making a dressing of vegan mayo, lemon juice, dill, chives, and I really don’t remember what else, but it sure was good… and even better the next day.
   
We have also made several other cucumber salads, and if we get around to it, will make soup.  And that’s about all there is to make with cucumbers… or you can surprise me!

While searching for interesting pickle recipes, I found a pickled beet recipe that looks good, and plan to try it, because we have a lot of beets.  This evening I made grilled beets… and although A liked it, I was underwhelmed.  Well, you can’t win them all!  Hmmmmm…. grilled cucumbers?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remember Forrest Gump?

  1. Anonymous says:

    grilled peaches!

  2. wei_k says:

    At Gladheart Farms, Tara and I made something like 6 gallons of pickled beets one day!!
    I think the mix of pickled veggies is a very Russian thing. (yes?)
    and–yay, Roya being home. 🙂

Leave a comment